Return of the Brecker Brothers

Whygold's Weekend...

under this motto I present you my music tip for the weekend. Maybe one or the other will discover something new. In my opinion, listening to music consciously is as important as reading a good book.

Today: Return Of The Brecker Brothers

https://music.youtube.com/playlist?list=OLAK5uy_leNp6OpozTGMLKYss_R4Aqnl4ipqb0dZ8

Brecker Brothers (also The Brecker Brothers or Brecker Bros.) was a fusion band led by brothers Michael Brecker (saxophone, flute, later also EWI) and Randy Brecker (trumpet, flugelhorn) and formed in the 1970s and early 1980s since 1975 years of recording commercially successful fusion albums. They had a hit with East River in 1979 which reached number 34 in the UK Singles Chart.[1]

She won a Grammy for her album Out of the Loop in 1995. Older brother Randy is best known as a founding member of the group Blood, Sweat & Tears.[3] He played on their debut album Child Is Father to the Man in 1968. Younger brother Michael came to New York in 1970, where he and his brother joined the jazz-rock band Dreams.

In the years that followed, the two brothers established themselves as a sought-after wind section for numerous studio productions in the field of rock and pop music due to their precise riffs. In 1974 Art Blakey brought both of them to his Jazz Messengers before they became independent in 1975 and released a "convincing record debut" with The Brecker Brothers. In the second half of the 1970s they were "one of the most successful funk jazz groups."[4] 1

In 992, the album The Return of the Brecker Brothers ushered in a short-term reunion. In addition to recording their own compositions, the brothers have often played together on albums and recordings by other artists, such as Todd Rundgren's hit Hello It's Me, the Parliament album Mothership Connection and the debut album by Japanese fusion band Casiopea.

The brothers also toured with Frank Zappa in the mid-1970s and appeared on his album Zappa in New York. Their collaboration ended in 2007 with the death of Michael Brecker, who died of leukemia. (Source: Wikipedia) The concert for this tour was one of the first concerts I attended when I started studying in Mainz. I can still remember it well.

It was 1993 in the KUZ. At this concert, bassist James Genus broke a string during a bass solo, but of course that didn't stop him from continuing to play. My favorite track is "Song for Barry", the very first track on the record, written by Michael Brecker. Brecker writes about this song: "A tribute to Barry Rogers' musical legacy, this tune is based on one of Barry's favorite horn motifs - which we frequently played together. It also contains a transcribed excerpt of Barry's trombone solo on "Un Dia Bonito" from Eddie Palmieri's album Sun of Latin Music. The bass line is an adaptation of a Guinean tribal theme.”

Have fun listening to the music!

Your Chris Weigold

P.S.: Maybe you can enjoy the listening pleasure together with a glass of wine from our "Orchestra of Cultures Edition".

Return of the Brecker Brothers

Whygold´s Weekend ...

unter diesem Motto präsentiere ich euch zum Wochenende meinen Musik-Tipp. Vielleicht entdeckt der eine oder andere ja was neues. Bewusst Musik hören ist meiner Meinung nach so wichtig, wie ein gutes Buch zu lesen.

Heute: Return Of The Brecker Brothers

https://music.youtube.com/playlist?list=OLAK5uy_leNp6OpozTGMLKYss_R4Aqnl4ipqb0dZ8

Brecker Brothers (auch The Brecker Brothers oder Brecker Bros.) war eine Fusionband, die von den Brüdern Michael Brecker (Saxophon, Flöte, später auch EWI) und Randy Brecker (Trompete, Flügelhorn) geleitet wurde und seit 1975 in den 1970er und frühen 1980er Jahren kommerziell erfolgreiche Fusionalben aufnahm. Sie hatten einen Hit mit East River im Jahr 1979, der Platz 34 in der UK Singles Charts erreichte.[1]

Für ihr Album Out of the Loop wurde sie 1995 mit dem Grammy ausgezeichnet. Der ältere Bruder Randy wurde als Gründungsmitglied der Gruppe Blood, Sweat & Tears bekannt.[3] Er spielte auf ihrem Debüt-Album Child Is Father to the Man im Jahr 1968. Der jüngere Bruder Michael kam 1970 nach New York, wo er mit seinem Bruder in die Jazzrock-Band Dreams einstieg.

In den Folgejahren etablierten sich die beiden Brüder aufgrund ihrer präzisen Riffs als eine gefragte Bläser-Sektion für zahlreiche Studioproduktionen im Bereich der Rock- und Popmusik. 1974 holte Art Blakey beide zu seinen Jazz Messengers, bevor sie sich 1975 selbständig machten und mit The Brecker Brothers ein „überzeugendes Plattendebüt“ veröffentlichten. In der zweiten Hälfte der 1970er Jahre waren sie „eine der erfolgreichsten Funk-Jazz-Gruppen.“[4] 1

992 leitete das Album The Return of the Brecker Brothers eine kurzfristige Reunion ein. Zusätzlich zu den Aufnahmen ihrer eigenen Kompositionen spielten die Brüder häufig zusammen auf Alben und Aufnahmen von anderen Künstlern, etwa Todd Rundgren's Hit Hello It’s Me, dem Parliament Album Mothership Connection und dem Debütalbum der japanischen Fusion-Band Casiopea.

Die Brüder gingen auch Mitte der 1970er Jahren mit Frank Zappa auf Tournee und erschienen auf dessen Album Zappa in New York. Ihre Zusammenarbeit endete 2007 mit dem Tod von Michael Brecker, der an Leukämie starb. (Quelle: Wikipedia) Das Konzert zu dieser Tour war eines der ersten Konzerte, das ich zu Beginn meines Studiums in Mainz besucht habe. Ich kann mich noch gut daran erinnern.

Es war 1993 im KUZ. Bei diesem Konzert ist dem Bassisten James Genus während eines Bass-Solos eine Saite gerissen, was ihn aber natürlich nicht daran gehindert hat, weiter zu spielen. Mein Lieblingsstück ist „Song for Barry“, gleich die erste Nummer auf der Platte, geschrieben von Michael Brecker. Brecker schreibt zu diesem Song: „A tribute to Barry Rogers´ musical legacy, this tune is based on one of Barry’s favorite horn motifs - which we frequently played together. It also contains a transcribed excerpt of Barry’s trombone solo on „Un Dia Bonito“ from Eddie Palmieri´s album Sun of Latin Music. The bass line is an adaptation of a Guinean tribal theme.“

Viel Spaß beim Musik hören !

Euer Chris Weigold

P.S.: Vielleicht genießt ihr den Hörgenuss zusammen mit einem Gläschen Wein aus unserer „Orchester der Kulturen Edition“.